saintpeter for Justice - Ἐγώ πᾰρέξω τὴν δῐ́κην

saintpeter

Chief Justice
9028bc09-2375-4544-9e24-e2c58ece0a79-200x200-auto-x1.png
To Whom It May Concern:

I am running during the November judicial election. I the relatively short time I have been here, I have become Deputy Minister of WA Affairs and Deputy Speaker. It would be a great honour to serve as a Justice at the Court of the North Pacific.

Besides great motivation and a promise not to abandon my office, I also bring judicial experience. I argued the Request for Review Gross Misconduct & the vagueness doctrine [2020] for the petitioner. Furthermore, I was a Temporary Hearing Officer in The North Pacific v. Ihese [2020] (adjudicating the case with C.J. @Zyvetskistaahn and J. @Mall).

I am convinced that the Court ought to stringently self-regulate its power. That is, it should not appoint itself judicial lawmakers, however tempting that may be. Respect for democracy requires justices to adhere closely to the will of the Regional Assembly. However, this promise will never come at the expense of rigorous enforcement of the rights of citizens of TNP.

What may be even more important, though, is judicial independence. It is foundational to justice. In the spirit of this, I will refrain from voting on any laws and motions before the RA. I do so not because I consider myself incapable of judging rules from a political and legal perspective separately. Instead, I believe this takes away any doubt others may have with regards to the Court's independence.

On a more practical note, I believe that the Court should seek to be more accessible to newcomers. The Executive already is, people can get involved without immediately having to run for office. I believe that a system with a small number of law clerks can serve as a way of doing so, and I would support this if elected.

If you have any question, please feel free to place it here. You are also free to contact me privately if you prefer so for any reason.