Abstain's Request for Review: Government Officials Definition

punk d

TNPer
-
-
So...I'm glad the scope has been broadened.

Part of what I am questioning is if there is a different between government official and 'government official' as defined within our laws.

One major point to make note of is the fact that I do not believe Election Commissioners take oaths of office. I thought we could get away with the point of saying if you take an oath you're a government official. But EC's don't take oaths as far as I have seen recently.

comments from GM via PM:
here are a few thoughts on the current issue. I am not a RL lawyer so I am not one to mince words or drag things out unnecessarily. I will get to the point and utilize examples but have no interest in formatting an actual legal statement. Just saying.

The Constitution is the governing document of the region. It defines the government. The Security Council is defined within the Constitution, therefore it is part of the government. Since the members are ratified by the Regional Assembly and charged by the same for the potential removal of the Delegate under its orders they must be included as part of the overall governmental apparatus.

Further, since Security Council members can internally determine a succession to the Delegacy, which is undoubtedly a government position, they must be part of the government, and therefore government officers.

I will add more later but for the general idea of "which positions are government positions" I would argue that any position defined within the Constitution is part of government by default.

Yeah EC's have never been required to take an oath. I am in general agreement with GM here. I will post more later.

A point that has been brought up by GBM and others - if SC members are categorized as government officials can they hold other offices?