The UKIP is now a thing

Lennart

TNPer
So European elections are over and the UKIP, an "anti-euro" party has risen by... a lot. They won in most of England and Wales if I recall correctly.

I've got a EU ID Card that permits me to work and live freely here in the UK, and I've been doing so for 4 months now. It seems like I should be worried about the UKIP recent success in EU elections... But to be honest, I understand most points in UKIP program, even if I don't share their "populistic" slogans and their not-so-well-thought views on immigration.

It might help to say I never believed in the European Union anyway nor I consider myself to be European.

So, guys, British or not, what are your thoughts on this matter?

Please don't take it personally Lenny, they didn't win seats because of your arrival. :console:

Also, UKIP have zero representation in the national legislature, so, from a certain point of view, they don't exist.

I must admit I didn't read any of the programs this year.

heh

Well, I'm not so sure either, the more time I spend in Britain the less sure I am about what a "British" is xD

And yeah, Chas, I don't feel bad, in fact I understand what they do. I guess next legislative elections will say if they are really a political power or not. At least they aren't as radical as other parties growing all over Europe this time... And France, oh my, The National Front! that's messed up.

Chasmanthe:
Please don't take it personally Lenny, they didn't win seats because of your arrival. :console:

Also, UKIP have zero representation in the national legislature, so, from a certain point of view, they don't exist.

I must admit I didn't read any of the programs this year.
Just as a note, UKIP has 2-3 members of the House of Lords, but none in the Commons. But yeah, they kinda don't really exist inside the UK proper.

UKIP were already a thing. People are acting like they've come from nowhere to shock everyone.