R3naissanc3r for Justice

r3naissanc3r

TNPer
-
-
I am running for Justice in the forthcoming judicial election. As is the convention, and for good reason, I will not be posting a long campaign. The primary purpose for this thread is to take questions from Regional Assembly members.

I have been playing NationStates since June 2005, and in this time have developed considerable expertise in NationStates law. I have legislated, litigated, and served as judge in numerous regions and organizations, many of them with strong law traditions. I am consulted on a frequent basis by legislators and judges from regions I am not a member of.

I joined the Regional Assembly in November 2012. Ever since, I have become well-versed in the regional laws. I have contributed to them significantly from the Regional Assembly, having authored or co-authored a number of bills. I also frequently participate in the debates (most often taking place on IRC) over the interpretation and the evolution of our laws. I have also done so through the Court, either by participating in criminal trials, or by bringing legal questions, or by answering them as a Temporary Hearing Officer.

I believe these make me proficient in researching, interpreting, and applying the regional law, and therefore a qualified candidate for Justice. My approach to these endeavors, should I be elected, will be informed primarily by judicial restraint. I will adhere to the law as written and not use my position to invent legislation; I will defer that role to the constitutionally designated legislature, the Regional Assembly. I understand the need for pragmatism and practicality, especially in an unprofessional setting such as NationStates, and believe that laws should be instruments facilitating the smooth operation of our community, rather than self-imposed barriers obstructing it. I will try to accommodate for these needs, but only to the extent permitted while staying within the boundaries of our statutory law.