-
-
Pronouns
He/His/Him
TNP Nation
Prydania
Discord
lordgigaice
I've been roleplaying in NationStates on and off since 2006. And one joke, back when I started, was that there were only three types of nations in NS. Nazi Germany expies, Imperial Japan expies, and USSR expies. That joke was as inaccurate then as it is now, but it does serve to illustrate that RPing a fascist nation has been a notion as old as NS itself. And I was very much a part of that trend.

My first NS nation was Inglo-Scotia. Culturally it was clearly an expy of Great Britain. It eventually became a full-on British mirror in terms of culture and government but at first? It was a fascist state that melded a bit of Ingsoc from 1984, a bit of Norsefire from V for Vendetta, and a bit of the heavy-handed aspects of Oliver Cromwell's Commonwealth/Protectorate regime of 1649-1660. I rebooted IS to be a properly British constitutional monarchy a few years later, but then I decided I needed more freedom. IS locked me into squarely British culture and I created Prydania to allow for more creativity. Perhaps inspired by some nostalgia for the early IS years? I opted to centre my first RP with Prydania around a fascist seizure of power.
I tell you that to explain that I have first-hand experience RPing a fascist nation. A fascist world power at that. I do not come to this topic from an outsider's perspective.

What is Fascism?
We need to define our terms before we jump into the how's and why's of RPing a fascist state. So what is fascism?
It's a difficult question. Fascism is usually placed on the extreme right of the political spectrum, the opposite to communism's place on the extreme left. This isn't particularly helpful though, for two reasons. The first is the horseshoe theory, which describes why fascism and communism both employ similar tactics despite being ideological opposites. The second reason this description isn't helpful is that unlike communism? Fascism has no "founding text."