[Proposal] North and South Hemispheres

Esplandia

Factbook Addict
-
TNP Nation
Esplandia
Discord
esplandia
Thanks to the work of the cartography staff we now have a complete map of the whole of Eras. New continental landmasses were added and the map was expanded to a size that now represents a whole planet. We can now draw a line across the center of it to represent the equator of the planet.

And with the existence of an equator comes the existence of northern and southern hemispheres. As in real life this would result in summer and winter being during opposite times of the year for each hemisphere. Since Eras has seasons already, I’m assuming that there is an axial tilt like earth. I’m not an expert on the subject, so I wouldn’t be able to figure out all the exact details and numbers. The point of this proposal is to make the difference in seasons between the two hemispheres be ruled on as canon.

As per current precedent, RPers would still be able to dictate their own climates, as this would only affect the seasons. People’s chosen climates for their nation to inhabit would not be affected by this proposal. So, when it’s summer in the northern hemisphere, it would be winter in the southern, and vice versa.

I know that this will likely upset some RPers who have nations in the south, but I believe this will be important for creating a richer, more realistic, RP world.

I will grant you that it will increase realism, but I think it's rather pointless, and that its cons outweigh its pros.

I think the same principle applies here, in a way, that was applied in the Christianity ruling. Realistically? Messianism and numerous other concepts inspired by real-world things would not exist in Eras; or at the very least would be significantly different; but these concepts exist because to not include them would likely be detrimental to community participation. I think that implementing a hemispheric seasonal difference has more drawbacks than benefits.